• Mon. Mar 20th, 2023

5 Newton County students take home big prizes in state science fair


Mar 17, 2023

COVINGTON, Ga. — Newton County College Method elementary college students brought home several big awards from the existing 2023 K-5 State Science and Engineering Fair held at Georgia College &amp State University in Milledgeville, Georgia.

According to Christina Phyall, NCSS Elementary Curriculum &amp Instruction Specialist, the students had a busy day at the state occasion.

“The students participated in a assortment of activities all by way of the day, which integrated interviews, STEM stations, Engineering Style and style challenges and even a tour of the All-all-natural History Museum,” she talked about. “I’m genuinely proud of our students as their genuinely challenging operate and dedication paid off as they have been awarded several big prizes at the occasion.”

five NCSS students won individual awards in the state fair, and in addition to the individual awards, Rufus Bryant of Oak Hill Elementary and Cooper Maxey of Reside Oak Elementary teamed up to win the incredibly initial place award at the Paper Table Challenge.

“We are grateful our students are afforded the likelihood to participate in the K-5 State Science and Engineering Fair,” Phyall talked about. “This is an wonderful likelihood for them to comprehend and create as scientists and participating in the science fair is good preparation for their future analysis. There are several optimistic elements to participating in the science fair, such as strengthening academic writing, along with verbal, written and public communication. Students also comprehend dilemma- solving capabilities by way of their scientific investigation.

“We seem forward to our continued partnership with Georgia College &amp State University and the state of Georgia K-5 Science and Engineering Fair.”

Correct right here are the individual award winners at the K-5 State Science Fair from NCSS: 

Audrey McGovern (1st place), Newton County Theme College Anthony Wilson (1st place), Rocky Plains Elementary Emma Beam (2nd place), East Newton Elementary Rufus Bryant (2nd place) and Journey Johnson (3rd place), Oak Hill Elementary.